Coping with Grief and Loss


act teletherapy - online therapy

We all experience loss at some point in our lives—it’s a part of the human condition. While this is a fact, it doesn’t make coping with loss or grief any easier when you’re the one experiencing it. When you’re dealing with the aftermath of a loss, you might experience emotions or symptoms that you’ve never dealt with before.

If you’re currently working through grief or loss, it’s important to learn more about the process so you can understand what you’re experiencing, and find a reliable support network, whether it’s through your loved ones or with online grief counseling. Learn more about grief and seeking support below.

What is Grief?

At its foundation, grief can be described as the process that one goes through after experiencing a loss. This loss can be the death of a loved one, the ending of a relationship, financial stability, or even the loss of feeling safe after a traumatic experience. Even losses that might seem to be part of regular life such as moving away from home or changing a job can trigger a grief response. It’s important to remember that grief can be triggered in different people in different ways and for different reasons. It’s a highly personal experience and there is no right or wrong way to grieve.

Symptoms of Grief

There are many different symptoms of grief, some of which can be hard to distinguish from other mental health challenges one might be experiencing simultaneously, such as anxiety or depression. While symptoms may also vary from person to person, these are a few common features:

  • Physical: While grief is an internal struggle, it can often manifest itself in physical symptoms. Someone experiencing grief might also deal with physical symptoms such as weight gain or weight loss, aches and pains, nausea, fatigue, and insomnia.
  • Emotional: Apart from physical symptoms, there are many emotional symptoms that someone experiencing grief might see. Someone experiencing grief might be feeling overwhelming emotions such as shock, sadness, anger, fear, guilt, or disbelief. These emotions are likely not quick and fleeting and can often be extremely overwhelming for the person feeling them.

Different Stages of Grief

Part of the reason grief can look so different in different people is that grieving is a process with multiple stages rather than simply one continuous state. The most famous depiction of the grieving process can best be categorized by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’ “five stages of grief.” This model was formed based on Ross’ research on patients who were diagnosed with a terminal illness. However, it is now widely applied to many different manifestations of the grieving process.

The five stages of grief include denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

It is important to remember that now the common interpretation of the stages of grief doesn’t see them as linear or fixed. Grief can better be described as a roller coaster, and different stages might be out of order, skipped altogether, or experienced over again in a different sequence.

No one person experiences grief the same way as another, and there is no “typical” or “standard” response to loss.

Dealing with Your Grief

If you are currently dealing with grief, there are a few different ways to cope with the pain and work through the different emotions or symptoms you’re experiencing. The first step is to acknowledge your pain. Recognize the fact that you’ve experienced a loss and are grieving and acknowledge that the grieving process may trigger a variety of new feelings and emotions. It’s also important for you to understand that your grief is unique, and there is no right or wrong way for you to work through it. Take some time to research and learn more about grief and take the steps you need to find support and care for yourself.

Finding Support

There are many ways for you to find support for your grief. The first step is building a network of friends and loved ones who care for you and who you can lean on during the challenging times ahead. For support outside your personal network, there are many different support groups to help those dealing with different types of loss. Finally, one of the best methods for support is finding some great in-person or online grief counseling. A trained mental health professional will be a great source of knowledge and techniques to work through the grief you’re experiencing.

Taking Care of Yourself

One final word of advice is to be kind and take care of yourself. Looking after your physical health will go leaps and bounds to supporting your mental health. Make sure you’re getting enough sleep, try to maintain your hobbies and interests, and find ways to creatively express what you’re feeling. At the end of the day, you’re going through a hard time, so don’t be too hard on yourself and remember that you will get through it.

Contact us today for online grief counseling!

At ACT Teletherapy, we provide expert online grief counseling for our clients, regardless of the type of loss you’re working through. Our trained mental health professionals will develop a treatment plan that’s right for your unique experience, and help you navigate your life on a day-to-day basis while you deal with this challenge.

Learn more about the outstanding services we offer and get in touch to book your first appointment today!






Bipolar Disorders




Anger Management


Job Loss or Change




Domestic Violence








Loneliness & Isolation




Grief Management